University Advancement
Advancement Home | SPU Home


Seattle Pacific Foundation


Seattle Pacific Foundation
3307 Third Avenue West, Suite 305
Seattle, WA 98119-1957



Donald MortensonDonald W. Mortenson
Vice Chair, Seattle Pacific Foundation; Senior Vice President for Planning and Administration, SPU

Since 1991, Don has served as, first, president and now vice chair of the Seattle Pacific Foundation. He is responsible for the Foundation’s investment management and oversight of the Seattle Pacific University Endowment and Charitable Trust Portfolio with over $95 million in assets. Don earned both a BS in Math and Economics (1971) and an MBA (1988) from Seattle Pacific. He also completed The Endowment Institute training at Harvard University Graduate School of Business.

Don also serves as SPU’s senior vice president for planning and administration.

Gordon NygardGordon Nygard
Chief Investment Officer, Seattle Pacific Foundation

Gordon serves as treasurer and chief investment officer of the Seattle Pacific Foundation, and is responsible for the Foundation’s investment management of the University’s Endowment and Charitable Trust portfolios. He has earned both a BA in Business Administration and Economics (1973) and an MBA (2005) from Seattle Pacific, and has completed The Endowment Institute training at Harvard University Graduate School of Business.     

Michael W. PotratzMichael W. Potratz
Financial Analyst, Seattle Pacific Foundation

Mike is responsible for maintaining the Foundation's accounting records. He graduated from Judson Baptist College in 1984 with a BS in Business Administration. He began working in Seattle Pacific University's finance area in February 1985 and has worked for the Foundation since 1988. He has served as the Foundation's accountant since October 1988.

Anna Zering

Anna Zering
Administrative Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer, Seattle Pacific Foundation

Anna provides both administrative and accounting support to the Foundation staff.  She earned her bachelor's degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Accounting from the University of Washington in 1984.



Tom BoxTom Box
President, Seattle Pacific Foundation, Endowments and Gift Planning

Tom Box previously served as SPU’s vice president for university advancement, athletic director, and director of development. As VPUA, 2008–13, he oversaw Alumni and Parent Relations, Annual Fund, Major and Planned Gifts, and Advancement Services. During his tenure, The President’s Circle (formerly, The Fellows) was introduced; the Parent’s Council was launched, and, following the 2008 stock market crash, University fundraising saw steady recovery each year. During Tom’s 10-year tenure in Athletics, five Falcon teams were national runners-up and individual athletes collected 14 national championships. In 2001, he played a pivotal role in the formation of the Great Northwest Athletic Conference (GNAC), of which SPU is a member. Prior to becoming athletic director in 1998, Tom spent 11 years as SPU’s director of development. He came to SPU in 1980 as director of management and budget, then served two years as director of planned giving. Tom was also the administrator of the Seattle Pacific Foundation, 1981–84. He earned his BA from Biola University and an MBA from SPU.

Marlon SandlinMarlon Sandlin
Director of Development - Gift Planning

Marlon serves Seattle Pacific constituents in estate planning and charitable gift planning, helping them achieve their philanthropic objectives while also addressing family, income, and tax considerations. He has served SPU since 2001 and has more than 30 years of gift-planning experience with various Christian organizations. Marlon earned his BA in sociology from University of California–Berkeley in 1975, an MDiv from Fuller Seminary in 1979, and obtained his Certified Financial Planner™ certification in 1990.

Lynn HallLynne Hall
Assistant to the President, Seattle Pacific Foundation

Lynne earned her BA from Seattle Pacific in 1976 and joined the University Advancement team in 2000. After five years as administrative assistant in the Alumni Office, she made the transition to the office of the vice president. Lynne brings to her position experience as an elementary school teacher and 10 years as children’s ministries administrator at her church. She and her husband, Ken (’77) have three grown children.


As of July 1, 2015

Mark L. Cederborg
Partner, Cederborg & Bret LLP

William J. Clancy, Chair
Client Manager, Cornerstone Advisors Inc., Retired

Craig F. Korthase, Secretary
Senior Vice President and Managing Director
US Bank — Private Client Group

Donald W. Mortenson, Vice Chair
Senior Vice President, Planning and Administration
Seattle Pacific University

Jeffrey A. Mullen
Madison Park Capital Advisors, LLC

Brian D. Pearson

Galen C. Smith
Chief Financial Officer, Outerwall Inc.

Dennis M. Weibling
Managing Director, Rally Capital LLC

Gordon Werkema
First Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Nancy A. Zevenbergen
President and Chief Investment Officer Zevenbergen Capital Inc.